Andrew Caldwell, Dublin, [Ireland], to James Edward Smith

Item data

Ref No GB-110/JES/COR/3/24
Title Andrew Caldwell, Dublin, [Ireland], to James Edward Smith
Letter date 3 Feb 1802
Author(s) Andrew Caldwell 1733-1808
Number of Pages 4

See full metadata

See comments

Collection home page

Actions (login required)

Edit Item Edit Item

GB-110/JES/COR/3/24 from Andrew Caldwell, Dublin, [Ireland], to James Edward Smith (3 February 1802)

Metadata for GB-110/JES/COR/3/24 from Andrew Caldwell, Dublin, [Ireland], to James Edward Smith (3 February 1802) Close

Item data

Item Type: Document
From: Caldwell, Andrew
Sent from: Dublin, Ireland
To: Smith, Sir James Edward

Delighted and surprised at the "sudden unexpected blessing of Peace" [with France] and excited by possibility of accompanying Smith to Paris. [Walter] Wade will send Smith his catalogue of plants found at Connemara, Ireland. Unenthused by the idea of such expeditions. His summer botanising confined to his garden in Dublin but did find, and encloses, a specimen of 'Myosotis ß', and 'Rubus idaeus'. Comments on the unpleasant scent of 'Orchis latifolia'. Compares figures of [Philip] Miller and [William] Curtis. Found many 'Bidens' at the Bishop of Dromore's in County Down. Also found another location of 'Rubus idaeus', convincing him that it is indigenous. Asks if there is any mark to distinguish 'Nymphaea lutea' and 'Nymphaea alba' when not in flower.
Winter has been severe but believes not as much as it has been in England. Vast flocks of crossbills, 'Loxia curvirosta', stayed from the end of August till the beginning of October and wreaked havoc in the orchards. Details the course of their flight across Ireland, believes they are "good prognostics of a severe winter" having also been observed in other winters with hard frosts. Has seen in December's "Monthly Review" a "Natural History of Pennsylvania" by [Benjamin Smith] Barton. Has also seen [William] Turton's [(1762-1835), conchologist] "The Animal Kingdom" advertised. Comments on a lottery prize; biggest prizes always go to the rich. 'Eranthemum pulchellum' is in Dublin stores, a rumour that London gardeners stole it from Kew.

Letter date: 3 Feb 1802
Languages: English
Prev Ref No: 3.46
Additional Information:
Note typeNote
Finding AidsDawson, W R, (1934). "Catalogue of the manuscripts in the Library of The Linnean Society - Part I. The Smith papers: The correspondence and miscellaneous papers of Sir James Edward Smith", London: Linnean Society.
Related MaterialBarton, B S, (1799). "Fragments of the natural history of Pennsylvania", Philadelphia; please note not available from Linnean Society Library. Turton, W, Linnaeus, C, (1802-1806). "A general system of nature, through the three grand kingdoms of animals, vegetables, and minerals" London: Lackington, Allen & Co., 7 vols.
Publn NoteSmith, P (ed.), (1832). "Memoir and correspondence of... Sir James Edward Smith" London: Longman, vol 2, pp.150-154.